Find Your Anchor

Something I learned while battling with my eating disorder was how important it was for me to have an anchor. So what’s an anchor, you ask?? For me, an anchor was that thing that I could always come back to that would keep me grounded in the present reality and remind me that I was more than my disorder. For years, I searched for this anchor…. I knew how desperately I needed it, but it was nowhere to be found.

And then I met Derek.

My husband has been my biggest supporter through my entire struggle with disordered eating and self-worth since we met. He daily tells me I’m beautiful and makes sure I’m eating enough. He asks me what my calorie count is for the day and pushes me to eat more if it’s not in a safe place, but also celebrates with me when it IS in a safe place and I’m not freaking out. He has been the thing that I can come back to that will ground me in my crazy world of distorted self-image and negative food thoughts. He even tried to do the Whole 30 with me… (He only made it 4 days, but hey… A for effort?? Haha). But even when he got off of it, he was always asking me how he could make it easier for me and taking me to Trader Joes or Whole Foods, prepping meals with me, and listening to me go on and on about all this crazy food knowledge I was suddenly learning. When I made the decision to go Paleo-ish, he was there with me the whole way, researching what I could and couldn’t have, helping me figure out new recipes, and encouraging me like crazy on the weekends when that -ish came into play to let go and not be so guilt-ridden or hard on myself. He is my anchor.

So, I mainly wanted to write this post just to tell you how important it is to find your anchor… also to brag on the world’s greatest husband who I’m so lucky to call mine. Also, he made me breakfast in bed today and helped me make one of the most delicious dinners we’ve had yet, so I wanted to tell you about those today.

For breakfast, he made me some Chicken Breakfast Sausage, sweet potato hash, an overeasy egg, and some berries. For dinner, we made some turkey burgers stuffed with mushroom and union topped with Tessemae’s Chesapeake Mayo, sautéed sweet potatoes and mushrooms, and sliced up avocado. It was delicious. I’m so blessed by this man, in the kitchen and everywhere else.

Find your anchor. ❤


Leave a comment