Morning Go-To

I hate breakfast. I think it has something to do with the fact that my mom used to make pancakes or eggs in a nest every morning of my entire childhood. I just got so bored with breakfast food. I’m also just not really in the mood to eat something as soon as I roll out of bed, and most days I don’t have time to wake up and then make something later. However, I know that if I don’t consume something in the mornings, I will be a ravenous hangry beast by the time lunch rolls around. Because of this, I’ve been doing some experimenting with different smoothies, and have consistently been drinking the same one every morning for about a week now. This smoothie is seriously only 4 ingredients, but it is the greatest thing for me in the mornings. I wake up and am immediately looking forward to it. I pretty much run to my blender to get everything ready (Sorry to all my neighbors who wake up to my blending joy in the mornings… whoops). Because I love this recipe so much, and it’s just enough to tide me over to lunch, I wanted to share it with you! I don’t have a name for it yet (my husband hates it, so he doesn’t get to deem it Mumm Shack anything 😛 ), but it is absolutely delicious, and has become my morning go-to.

 

Morning Go-To

Ingredients:

6-8 oz Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk (any brand will work, I just make sure mine doesn’t have any hidden sugars, weird chemicals, or any soy; I vary from 6 – 8 oz depending on how hungry I am that morning and how smooth or thick I want it!)

1 tablespoon Trader Joe’s Creamy Almond Butter (Any brand will also work for this. Creamy, crunchy, salted. I prefer non-salted creamy, because I’m a huge texture person.)

1 handful of spinach

1/2 banana

2-3 ice cubes (I don’t always add these in. I like my smoothies to be liquidy, but every now and then I want the extra coldness and thickness the ice adds)

How-To:

I put everything in the blender in exactly that order. That shouldn’t matter, but I swear I can taste a difference if I go out of order. I especially like to put the almond butter in directly on top of the milk, because that seems to make it easier to blend together rather than it just splattering and sticking to the sides. Blend until smooth and enjoy!! This ends up being about 190 calories for me. I know around 250 – 350 calories are recommended for breakfast, but my stomach is usually not ready for that intake that early in the morning. So feel free to modify it based on your specific bodily needs. Happy Monday!!

Leave a Reply

