A Day in My Kitchen

I absolutely LOVED every single thing I put in my body today, so I decided to take you on a tour through my meals today!!

Breakfast: As I mentioned in an earlier post, I am not a huge breakfast person and usually stick with my go-to smoothie. However, this morning I was feeling a little adventurous and wanted something a little more substantial. I still wasn’t feeling a ton of calories, so I knew I wanted it to be low-cal, but I just didn’t feel like drinking my breakfast this morning. So, I decided to get a little creative, and let me tell you, my brain did not disappoint!

sauteed-apples

I grabbed an apple, sliced it, and threw it in a pan with a little bit of oil. As they sautéed, I threw on some cinnamon and let them sear for a few minutes on each side. Once they were pretty soft and had browned some, I threw them in a bowl and added a tiny bit of unsweetened vanilla almond milk and then topped them with some crushed coconut chips. Oh man, it was so amazing. The warmth of the apples and the coolness of the milk complemented each other so much better than I thought they would. I was actually a little nervous when I took the first bite, but this is a breakfast I will definitely be having again.

salmon

For lunch, I threw some salmon in a skillet with some olive oil and seasoned each side with chili powder, oregano, and ground pepper. As that continued to sear in the pan, I threw some asparagus (chopped into thirds), brussel sprouts, and mushrooms (chopped into fourths) in another pan with the same oil and seasonings. I let those marinate in the seasonings and oil and sautéed them as I finished the salmon. The end result was so good. I’m a huge fan of spices and my food having a little kick to it, and the chili powder was enough to do just that. My husband even loved it, and he doesn’t even like salmon that much. It will definitely be made again.

almond-banana-muffins

After lunch, we were feeling a little adventurous and really wanted to bake something. However, we didn’t want to go out and spend a ton of money on ingredients we would hardly ever use except for one recipe here and there. So I found a banana almond muffin recipe that I just so happened to have everything for in my cupboards already. All it called for was 2 bananas, 2 eggs, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp baking soda, and 1 cup of almond butter (we just put in 1/2 cup. I am not about to put $6 worth of almond butter into one pan of muffins. And they still tasted amazing when they came out.) We put all of the ingredients into our blender and blended them together on the smoothie setting. Then we poured them into our muffin pan filling each about 2/3 full. We preheated the oven to 400 degrees (Fahrenheit) and cooked them for 12 minutes. DEAR LORD these muffins were from heaven. I just finished the Whole30 not too long ago, and they very strongly frown upon remaking “bad” foods with good ingredients. Well, thank God that I’m not on the Whole30 anymore, because I am a HUGE fan of letting yourself enjoy the things you love with healthier alternatives. Why would you not want to enjoy your favorite cupcake or chocolate in a healthier version? These muffins were amazing. My husband was RAVING over them and even said they were the best muffin he’s ever had (my husband eats like his stomach is a nonstop pit, so trust me he’s eaten A LOT of muffins). They were SO simple and SO delicious. Try them!! You won’t regret it.

 

We didn’t get to celebrate Valentine’s Day yesterday, so we got Chili’s for dinner tonight, so unfortunately my dinner was not in my kitchen. But if you wanna know what I got, I got the chicken fajitas (without the tortillas and only with pico and guac on the side). It’s always still a struggle for me to be fully paleo-compliant when out to eat. You never know what they cook stuff in. I’m learning to be a little more gracious to myself and let myself just enjoy these moments with my husband and not freak out over the possible vegetable oil I just consumed. It’s not going to kill me.

Anyways, thanks for joining me on this tour through my kitchen. I hope you found something worth recreating. Have a great Wednesday night!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

