Smoothie Bowl

Good morning, everyone, and HAPPY FRIDAY!!!

Sorry I’ve been nonexistent the past few days. My husband is currently going through the process of becoming a credentialed minister through the Assemblies of God, so we have been at a licensing seminar the past two days. I’m so excited and proud of him, but it was a LONG two days. We are glad that part is over.

But, at the conference, they pretty much had NO compliant food. I had to make my own breakfast early in the morning before heading out for the seminar, and I brought my own snacks to have for lunch. That being said, I was absolutely ravenous this morning when I woke up. My normal smoothie was not going to cut it, and I did not feel like eggs this morning. I’ve been seeing this new craze recently about smoothie bowls, and I decided to try my hand at it!

Sadly, I wasn’t a HUGE fan of it. I made it a lot thicker than my normal smoothies so as to actually be able to eat it with a spoon, but it just wasn’t the greatest. BUT it was the most beautiful thing I think I have ever made. So, I’m going to show you it and give you my recipe anyway!!

smoothie-bowl

Recipe:

Smoothie:

4-6 oz Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk (The thicker you want it, the less milk)

1 Tbsp Trader Joes’ Creamy Almond Butter

1 Banana (I usually only put 1/2 in my smoothies, but I wanted the extra thickness so I put in the full one!)

1/4 Avocado (This makes your smoothie really creamy!)

1 handful of spinach

Toppings:

Handful of crushed coconut chips ( I used Dang’s Caramel Sea Salt flavor)

1/8 cup blueberries

8-10 Trader Joes’ Unsalted Almonds ( You can use salted, but it just tastes weird with the smoothie. I’ve tried it.)

 

So again, I wasn’t the hugest fan of it. It upset my stomach a little bit – but I’m thinking that has a huge part to do with the fact that it was almost 400 calories and I rarely even have half of that for breakfast. I couldn’t finish it. But overall it was still pretty good and nutrient-dense! And beautiful. So feel free to try to make it, switch up the ingredients, and try new things! Have a fantastic weekend guys!!

 

Leave a Reply

