Aldi Finds

Happy Sunday, everyone!

I hope your weekend was absolutely amazing and that you’re ready for another week!

(This is our last week of classes before Spring Break and before my husband and I head to Indiana to see my family and our new nephew!!! We might be a little excited…)

Anyway, Sunday is our grocery shopping day, and we always hit up Aldi first to get all we can there before we head over to Whole Foods. Like I’ve mentioned before, we’re college kids on a budget here. Aldi is our best friend. I’ve done a lot of research about what is and isn’t compliant at Aldi’s, so I wanted to share some things we get from there that could be helpful for you!! Here is our Aldi grocery list:

Veggies: (Obviously, all veggies here are compliant with Paleo, but I’m just going to share some of my favorites!)

Cauliflower, Broccoli, Radishes, Brussel Sprouts, Asparagus, Avocado, Baby Carrots, Yellow Onions, Sweet Potatoes, Green Pepper, Spaghetti Squash, Spinach, Romaine Hearts

Fruits:

Strawberries, Blackberries, Blueberries, Raspberries, Peaches, Pears, Bananas, Gala Apples

Meats:

We stick with the same meats pretty much every week, we just switch up the quantity. We can never go wrong with their Breakfast Chicken Sausage. We eat that stuff literally every day. We also get Turkey, Chicken Tenderloins, and Salmon from the freezer section (It obviously makes it last longer, and we don’t like to feel rushed to cook things in a specific order simply because they’re gonna go bad faster). We’ve tried their steak a couple of times. It’s not bad, it just tends to be a little chewier than we prefer. Their shrimp is also AMAZING.

Others:

Priano Spicy Pepper Pasta Sauce – I was amazed when I found out this was compliant! We had some today over Spaghetti Squash noodles. Thank You, Lord it was AMAZING.

Almond Milk – Be careful of this. I’ve found some compliant and some non-compliant in the same stores. So just watch out for the ingredients!

Little Salad Bar Guacamole – Their guac is AMAZING. So good.

Little Salad Bar Fresh Salsa

 

That’s about our usual load. My husband also buys more than that as he is not Paleo, so he’ll add in cereals or bread/granola bars/pizza. Thankfully he eats paleo-compliant with me at meals and maybe has some non-compliant snacks. This has made it easier for me to stay on track! But, I just wanted to give you a peek into our shopping cart at Aldi!

Also, today we went to Whole Foods after our Aldi run to grab some grain-free tortilla chips and some lunch. And I found this drink that I just absolutely had to try, and it was SO GOOD. So I just wanted to let you all know about it so you can share in one of life’s greater blessings.. 😛

rebbl

Man, this stuff was SO good. My husband didn’t like it… (MORE FOR ME), but he has always been really picky about health foods. His family pretty much grew up on McDonalds runs and microwavable dinners… (Yet he’s still a stick and can eat whatever he wants without gaining a pound… Don’t you HATE those people). But, I thought it was amazing. I will definitely be getting it again.

Have a great week, guys! Choose to enjoy even the bad parts of it!

 

Leave a Reply

