Matter Over Mind

The past couple of days, I have had the WORST stomach cramps and headaches. I haven’t had a headache or stomach ache since I started the Whole 30 a couple of months ago, and paleo made me feel even better. So when it hit me like a truck I had no idea what was going on. I tried drinking more water, drinking less water, eating lighter foods, watching what I ate and how it affected me, and it just would not go away. So last night around 11:00 pm, my stomach hurt so bad I couldn’t even fall asleep. I was so nauseous. And I knew my husband had some Sprite in the fridge. I’m not a fan of Sprite, but it has always helped settle down nausea and stomach pain for me. I knew it would be helpful.

BUT.. it was Monday, and past 8:00 pm. Sprite is not Paleo-compliant, therefore I can only consume it on Saturday and Sunday. I also don’t eat or drink anything after 8 pm. That’s been a rule I set for myself years ago. So, yes, Sprite would help me feel better, but it would also cause me to break two of my long-held rules… I don’t break rules. I battled back and forth with myself for awhile about whether or not I should let myself have the Sprite. Finally my husband realized something was wrong. When he asked me what was going on, I replied with, “My mind is dumb.” I explained to him that I felt like crap and knew Sprite would help, but that it made me feel guilty because it was against my paleo-ish rules. His response? “Paleoish can go suck it. Taking care of your body is more important than your rules.”

He was right. But why did my mind wrestle with the idea of drinking something as small as a Sprite even when I was so nauseous I thought I was going to throw up? Rules and guidelines can be very good, but when we start to let them dictate every part of our lives, and when we start to let them take precedence over our wellbeing, something needs to be reevaluated. Derek went and grabbed the Sprite for me, and he even drank some of it with me to help me feel better about drinking it. As much as I’m so grateful for his support, why did I need someone else to drink a small Sprite with me so I didn’t have to feel as guilty…? Man our minds can be so screwed up sometimes. Sometimes the matter is actually more important than what your mind is saying. Be smart, listen to your body. Listen to your mind, too, but only after you’ve asked your body what it needs. Love your body enough to prioritize its needs over your rules.

Leave a Reply

