I’m Back!!

Hi, guys!! I’m so sorry about being AWOL the last week or so. It was my school’s Spring Break, and my husband and I traveled down to Indiana (where I’m from) to spend some time with my family. I don’t get to see them too often, so I was away from my computer and phone pretty much the whole week. But it was a BLAST. So much happened, and I can not wait until I can get back down there.

Oliver

For one, I MET MY NEPHEW. My sister had a baby about a month ago, and since we are 12 hours away and in school, we couldn’t get down there to meet him until our break. So we finally got to meet the sweet little peanut this last week. His name is Oliver, and he has every ounce of my heart. That little baby kept most of my heart with him when we hopped back in the car to head for Minneapolis again.

22

Second, I TURNED TWENTY-TWO! I have been waiting for this birthday ever since Taylor Swift came out with that song. Haha. It was a magical day. My husband woke me up with breakfast in bed and some gifts that my Paleo-self were VERY happy with – Carrot Cake Larabars, Vanilla Bean Coconut Cookies, and an exercise mat I’ve been looking at for ages. Then he took me for coffee (I got a coconut cream latte… YUM), and we headed for Louisville, Kentucky (about 1 1/2 hours from my hometown). Once there, we walked around and looked at all the houses and beautiful blooming trees, and then we found a health foods store called Rainbow Blossom. We went in and searched high and low for a birthday “cake” for me. I ended up getting a dark chocolate almond butter cake cup. It was SO good. Then we went and got my nails done, had lunch at this cute little bar and grill (where I got a grilled chicken salad with guacamole… which they didn’t charge me extra for. Happy Birthday to me!!) THEN we found a vegan smoothie bar and I grabbed the most delicious thing I’ve ever tasted. A smoothie made with almond milk, banana, cinnamon, coffee, dates, and pure maple syrup. I died and went to Heaven. My husband opted for a vegan chocolate chip cookie, and then we headed to the Louisville Riverfront to enjoy the beautiful weather and walk around. After that, we headed back to good ol’ Southern Indiana, and my family and I went out to eat at this Hawaiian Bar & Grill where I just got grilled chicken and some grilled asparagus. Then we ended the day by watching the movie The Shack. Which, if you haven’t seen it, GO. It changed my life. I cried multiple times and left the theater feeling like I was closer to the Lord.

Size 7

LASTLY, on Friday, my mom took me and my sister to buy new jeans because none of ours fit (My sister was no longer pregnant but still couldn’t fit into her pre-pregnancy jeans, and all mine were starting to fall off). We went into Maurices, and I am usually a solid 13, so that’s what I grabbed. WAY too big. So then I grabbed an 11 and a 9 just to try on for size. BOTH STILL TOO BIG. I walked out of that store with a size 7 in my hands. I haven’t worn a size 7 since I was 12 years old. THANK YOU PALEO-ISH for helping my body get to its healthy size and helping me get some cute jeans. (Insert, the number on your jeans is SO not of huge importance. Our bodies are all made differently, and there are people smaller than me in bigger sizes than me, and bigger than me in smaller sizes than me. So do not focus on a number. BUT in that moment for me it felt good and I was extremely happy.)

 

That was my week. It was amazing, filled with some yummy paleo food (Mostly… it was a break and a birthday, you gotta let yourself have some off-plan treats) and my beautiful crazy family who I love so much and miss so much more already. I will be more present on this blog now that I’m back. Thank you for sticking with me.

Have a great week, guys! Happy Monday (:

One thought on “I’m Back!!

Leave a Reply

