When Your Food Turns On You

I had an AMAZING weekend. I ate paleo-compliant both Saturday and Sunday, and I was feeling great. Monday, I was also paleo-compliant. My body was feeling healthy, and it was feeling strong. AND THEN 9:00 pm hit.

Around 9, I started to feel like somebody was ripping apart my stomach with a knife. The pains were so sharp and so unbearable that I laid on the bathroom floor for about 30 minutes, convinced that I was dying. I tried so hard to throw up, thinking that would make me feel better. But I couldn’t. I had a meeting at 9:30, so I finally dragged myself off the floor and started making my way over. And of course, with my luck, I threw up on my way. ALL OVER THE SIDEWALK. This is the life of a drunk. Someone who doesn’t know where they are and has no self-respect… WHY ME. I was so mortified. My husband called my boss who I had the meeting with and led me back home, where I then threw up another 6 times from the time of 10 pm to 3 am. It was miserable. I was in bed all day long the next day and ate nothing but toast.

Thankfully I woke up this morning and felt 100% okay, and after investigating all the symptoms and signs, I realized I’d faced a bad case of food poisoning. I knew I needed to be very careful of what I put in my stomach the next couple of days. I also knew that the idea of eating vegetables, fruit, or any type of meat made me want to throw up all over again. So how was I going to stick to my paleo regimen? Well, I didn’t, that’s how. My body’s needs were way more important to me than following some guidelines. I needed to put my body first. I didn’t go crazy. I could barely eat anything. I had a couple pieces of toast, some sprite, and a gatorade, and then today I had some chicken noodle soup and orange juice.

So I guess my point of this post is simply to tell you that it’s okay to listen to your body. It’s okay to veer off track for the sake of taking care of your body. Listen to your body’s needs. If even the idea of eating something makes you feel like you’ll get sick, then you probably will. Trust your body’s knowledge. It knows itself better than your mind likes to think it does.

Thank you for reading this far. This was more just a post of me blurting out my thoughts and feelings on a page, so thank you!(: Congratulations on making it halfway through this week. Two more days and it will be the weekend!!! Have a great rest of your week!

Leave a Reply

